跳到内容

沉香简介

自然界中的珍宝

什么是 沉香之?

Introduction of Agarwood

森林中的 黑色 黄金

Aquilaria malaccensis是属于Thymelaeceae系中的其中一种植物;普遍上生长于越南、柬埔寨、缅甸、印度尼西亚、中国和马来西亚等地区,主要属于东南亚地区的沉香品种。 此类植物名称众多,在英译里即有Agarwood,Jinkoh,Aloeswood,Gaharu,Eaglewood 或OUD等称号。而‘沉香’,虽然广泛用于称作Aquilaria Genus的植物品种,更为贴切的是指在该树木(沉香木)里所具有的油脂。

The Chronicles 沉香

自古以来,沉香被称为植物界中的珍宝;经由自然界微妙形式下自然形成,不但在宗教事务上广泛使用,也作为香水制作无可或缺的精华原料、更用于医疗。

数百年以来,沉香以拥有广泛使用范围(即从传统文化中至宗教产品)逐渐成为人们最受欢迎的芳香木材。 沉香的存在不仅肃立于佛教仪式的核心,在传统中医学上显著的整体成效更受到高度重视。它持久性的独特麝香气味被认为是一种奢侈的香料检验标准,在西方地国家广泛用于涂抹身体的精油、香精等。

一瞥间,拥有“神之木”荣誉之称的沉香已经超过3000年的历史了。沉香的存在皆记载于古埃及、中东地区和东亚区的许多古代史学及文学和一些古文明中。 在中国,沉香木更被人们视为高档木材和药草类并且记载到“本草纲目”中。

于今,源于明朝“一寸沉香一寸金”的说法已不复存在。相反的,凭着沉香的稀有性、奢华、富裕与独家专属的性质,已促使沉香的价格超越与黄金的等值,更胜于三倍之多,为世界上最令人垂涎的商品之一。

 

沉香之 原生态

沉香 --- 半寄生植物

沉香树可以归类为半寄生植物,因为它具有成千上万的吸盘排列于根尖处,用于粘附在其他植物上以吸收成长中所需的养分和水分。尽管沉香树能和其他树木一样从土壤中吸收养分,但其主要营养来源则取自于周围环境。

成长条件

沉香树是属于生长缓慢的植物,成长过程长达数十年。一般上,沉香木的成长速度与成功栽种率取决于土壤、地形、气候与妥善呵护的因素。

气候

沉香树在自然界里适合生长在热带雨林地带,对周围的气候异常敏感。 一般10摄氏以下的温度可导致它们的生长停滞,而在零度以下的温度中,幼嫩的Aquilaria树苗则将枯萎。 因此,相较之下,沉香树更适合种植在全年处于热带气候且气候温和,并且免受于自然灾害,例如台风等的地区。

土质

沉香树是属于芳香植物之一,对于类似植物来说单是肥沃的土壤并不足以满足它们的生长过程。培植沉香树的最佳基本土质是土壤中必须含有适量、比例适中的营养元素, 以确保沉香树可以直接吸收, 使其成熟过程加速。

地质

沉香树最不可或缺的就是充足的阳光以便进行光合作用,以加速其树身的成长过程。此外,沼泽或长期潮湿的土地都是沉香树最避忌的生长环境,长期侵泡在水中的树根将会腐烂,既而导致其树身枯萎。因此合适的地质无非都是种植沉香树最为至要的因素之一。

寄主植物

本属于半寄生植物的沉香树,在生长过程中主要都依靠周遭的植物来维持它们的成长;而依赖性过高的沉香树为了满足它们半寄生所需的充足养分,一般上都会随着时间的流逝不断的改变其所依附的植物。

沉香特点 & 构成

Handling of Agarwood
沉香树木的治理
沉香树的木质精巧而纤弱,必须妥善处理才能确保囊在其中的树脂不被破坏。而在培植的过程中,园艺师不单止要全程监督和细心照顾,更需对沉香树的所有构造都有深切详细的了解。园艺师必制作一套完善且适用的培植方案和建作计划,其中包括除草、松土、修剪、防虫、适当排水和防风等处理方法。经历了这些严峻的培植过程方可获取优良质量的沉香树;这可道出沉香是何等如此稀有、珍贵、高价值及奉为佳壁。
Inchiotation
起源
众所周知,Thymelaeaceae是一种草本植物,也是属于沉香树的品种之一。这类植物在成长的过程中,会因由各别树身的特质,因树外细菌的入侵或因受伤害所产生的树脂成分和树身成分混合;此自然形成的固态凝聚物就是不可多得的“沉香”。

古时,中国将沉香称为“沉水香”(沉香木),同时也将沉香同中国古代最美丽的西施并相提论;即因她体肤散发出所使用的沉香香气而致使众人拜倒裙下,当中包括当代皇帝。‘沉香’,在世界各地都有各自的号称;在马来西亚则通称为Agarwood 或Gaharu。
Soil & Climate
土质与气候
沉香植物偏喜高度潮湿的热带气候,年降水量为1800-3500毫米之间更为合适。只要拥有充足的阳光,一般上沉香树将可从海平面上的高度成长至500米左右的高度。 沉香树喜欢生长在透气、排水良好、机质丰富的肥沃土壤里,然而它也可以生长于边际土壤或者岩石上裂缝之间那浅层的土壤当中。沉香树不只可以很良好的生长在有斜度的山坡上,也可以很适宜地生长于热带雨林的环境当中。根据以往沉香种植业者所提供的数据,酸性壤质皆是有利于沉香树健康成长的条件之一。酸性壤质里所含有的各类菌种,皆有助于沉香树里珍贵树脂的结成。

沉香之 采香 过程

The Path towards Agarwood Formation

01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
Formation-01
沉香品种的花序
在众多沉香树的品种当中Aquilaria Malaccensis属于一般种植者的首选,因为此品种平均7-9年的时间就会结香一次;相对一些品种从树苗到成熟的完整生命周期里,只能拥有一次结香。Aquilaria植物种的开花和结实季节一般都落在5月份至8月份之间。
Formation-02
沉香品种的顽拗性种子
沉香品种的顽拗性种子平均一个沉香胶囊果实里可生产出1至2颗的沉香种子,而这些种子最忌干燥。一般上沉香种子的生存期为7-10天。
Formation-03
沉香种子的发芽过程
该沉香种子首先会置放在沙床中让它萌发,之后再小心翼翼地把其幼苗移植到聚乙烯袋中,并利用合适的竹竿支撑,种植于临时遮荫的种植地。
Formation-04
移植沉香树苗
凡是成长足6个月的沉香幼苗将从临时遮荫地被移植到沉香树专属种植区内;通常沉香树之间的种植距离为2米到6米之间,并给予细心呵护。
Formation-05
自然形成的沉香树脂
成长至第3年时,沉香树苗会在韧皮部和薄壁组织之间逐渐形成树脂。一旦有真菌入侵此时的沉香树,其树身将会发生相对的回应,自行产生出保护性树脂;而凝聚于树身当中的树脂达到相应的饱和度后,就会形成沉香木。
Formation-06
人造接种的模式
通过自然成熟而形成的沉香树脂可能需要较长时间才能完成,而在众多成熟的沉香树当中含有沉香木树脂的机率只有1%。因此为了诱导和提高沉香树脂合成的速度,长期以来沉香种植者都会使用即安全又有效的人造接种方法,例如使沉香树创伤或人为的真菌感染等。
oil-green
沉香相关产品
所有成熟的沉香木都拥有属于自己独特的香味,这也是沉香木最有价值的增值点。相对于容易让人复制的其他香料种类,沉香木会因在不同环境下、不同种类真菌入侵、不同形势所凝聚而成的沉香树脂而造就其独特的香味及相关产品,更为显示出它人性化、别具一格的独特香味。
Agarwood_Hero
沉香木的收成期
当沉香树龄成长到5至10年时,该沉香树就适合收成,制造成各种高价值相关产品。

自然界中 的宝藏

工厂每个部分的好处

树叶

沉香树叶含丰富蛋白质、维生素和微量营养素;是一种非传统但安全食用的营养食品。沉香嫩叶配与甘草,可制成味道纯香馥郁,可排毒,且不含咖啡因的沉香茶。

花瓣

根据本草纲目的药典文献记载中,沉香的小黄绿色花瓣可以用来制成沉香花茶。它有助于降低胆固醇、血糖和血压,也同时可以制成中药以治疗跌伤、骨折、瘀伤、拉伤和挫伤,俗称为“铁打”。

树脂

沉香树身内,经过日夜精华凝聚而成的沉香树脂,或称“香木”可制成价格昂贵的香精原材料。

树皮

经过加工处理的沉香树皮可以制造成精致纸张及各种分级材料元素。

果实

沉香的果实有高含量的油脂,而其中的60%是植物属性的脂肪酸,包括硬脂酸和西门宁酸,导致其果实表面具有优异的绝缘质量和光泽。成熟后的沉香果实,可提炼出价值高昂精贵的沉香精油。

树枝

沉香树枝经过粉破碎烘干处理后,再加上适量的玫瑰花瓣混合一起,可制成供祭拜的上等香料及制成高级缐香。

树根

把沉香树根暴晒碾碎后和玫瑰花瓣混合一起,可用于宗教祭祀的优质香料及制成高级缐香。

树干

沉香树俗有“新象牙”之称,因它的树干异常坚固,即使害虫也无法侵蚀和腐蚀。沉香树干经过精心加工打造后,可制成耐用的高级家具、链珠子、或雕刻成高价格高质量的格式宗教雕塑。

The 之王 沉香

奇楠

奇楠(Kinam)是一种非常昂贵和珍贵的沉香,它含有丰富的粘性树脂和香味,而且它具有麻醉性,苦味和薄荷的味道。温和而庄重的气味,带着一丝苦涩。这种香味就像贵族般的优雅与和蔼可亲。在于中医,人们相信它能治疗癌症和其他疾病。棋南可以在印度,中国,泰国,柬埔寨,缅甸,老挝,找得到,特别是在越南。根据Baieido有限公司的Kyozaburo Nakata,棋南的名字来自越南南部早期商人Kyara的当地语言。这个名字来源于梵文黑色-“Kala”和中文的树-“Bak”字组合在一起,形成了Kalambak,后来这个名字变成了奇楠(Kinam)。

棋南总是以公斤来卖。真正的棋南百年难遇而且价格非凡。实际上,棋南的市场价格是每公斤2万美元。

中国目前正准备成为全球最大而且发展最快的沉香木单一市场。近年来,中国对沉香木和沉香木产品的需求呈指数增长,据信价值达数十亿美元。

广东省种植了大约7万棵沉香树,海南将近6万棵,而其他沉香树的数量较少。近十年来,已经开发了大量的沉香木种植园。种植园缓解野生种群的压力和满足市场需求。近期,中国也在持续改进使用沉香木的技术。

如今,沉香木的飘香已经可以追溯到中国南方,但其增长速度还是不如热带国家, 因于中国南方的气候凉爽和台风的扰动。

沉香 –帝皇级 价值的存在"

沉香,自古以来都被视为稀有珍宝;价值非凡,由树根到树叶,每一个部分都有益于人类。

心灵中的 课题

沉香的独特香味一直在裨补人类的心灵,并且在宗教和精神治疗的领域里得到了显著性的卓越效应。根据记载此香味可以接应人们与神灵之间的交流。自上古时代,沉香被广泛用于人们的精神治疗,帮助人们通往修行得道之路,历练蜕变,更以沉香的‘香’作为奉献的产品。沉香是香薰疗法的重要元素之一,它无疑是最有效地平复和致使人心安宁的元素,提供人们一个高层次且抚慰人心的家庭气氛。

优质 生活

沉香不仅是宗教和文化产品的核心,它还广泛的用于香水、药用和装饰等用途。
zh_CNChinese

Skip to content

Why Agarwood?

The Gem in the Rough

What is Agarwood?

Introduction of Agarwood

A Gem In The Rough

Aquilaria malaccensis is a species of plant in the Thymelaeceae family found primarily in South East Asia, such as Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Indonesia, China and Malaysia. It is recognized in many names, namely Agarwood, Jinkoh, Aloeswood, Gaharu, Eaglewood, and OUD. The term Agarwood, although widely used to refer to the members of the Aquilaria genus, more specifically refers to the resinous heartwood from the Aquilaria trees.

The Chronicles of Agarwood

Reputed to be nature’s alchemy taking form, Agarwood has been lauded since the dawn of time as a gem in the rough; for religious affair, fragrance and medical treatment.

For many centuries, it is the most sought-after aromatic wood, for the multidimensional uses of Agarwood range from traditional, cultural to religious offerings; it is central to Buddhist rituals, highly revered within traditional medicine for its holistic effects, and it’s lasting, musky scent considered a luxurious cultural touchstone, used widely in Western homes as body oils, fragrance and the likes.

At a glance, the “Wood of the Gods” has at least a 3,000-year history, recorded in many ancient literatures and some of the earliest civilizations in Egypt, Middle East and East Asia. In China, Agarwood was first dated in the Miscellaneous Records of Famous Physicians (502-566 A.D.) as a top-grade wood and herb, and saw rapid development across the Tang and Five dynasties.

Today, the old saying originating from the Ming Dynasty that goes – “an inch of Agarwood is worth an inch of gold” no longer holds true. Instead, for its rarity, luxury, opulence, and exclusivity, Agarwood is now priced up to thrice as costly as gold, rendering it one of world’s most coveted commodities.

 

Agarwood Habitat

A Semi-Parasite

Agarwood trees can be classified as semi-parasitic plants, for they have thousands and millions of suction cups lined up principally at root tips. These suction cups would adhere to other plants for the uptake of water and nutrients from the soil; they mainly thrive from surrounding’s elements.

GROWING CONDITIONS

Agarwood trees are slow-growing plants with maturing process of up to several decades. The Growth rate and degree of success of its cultivation of the fragrant wood are immensely dependent of soil, topography, climate, and proper handling.

CLIMATE

Agarwood trees are found naturally in tropical forests, and are very sensitive to climate. Temperatures below 10 °C may engender their growth to remain dormant, and at subzero temperatures young Aquilaria saplings begin to wither and eventually die-off. Hence Agarwood trees are preferably cultivated at regions with an all-year tropical climate and avoiding regions susceptible to natural disasters such as typhoon.

SOIL

Fertile soil alone may not be sufficient to cater to growing demands of Agarwood. The ideal foundation for cultivating Agarwood trees are soil that is enriched with symmetry micronutrients; stimulating direct absorption by Agarwood trees, thereby accelerate the maturity process.

TOPOGRAPHY

Sun-loving Agarwood tree requires an adequate amount of sunlight for photosynthesis, essential for facilitating growth rates. A deep body of water is fatal to Agarwood tree; roots submerging in water lead to decay, a gradual withering process.

HOST PLANTS

Due to the semi-parasitic nature of Agarwood trees; it entails a constant necessity of host plants.

Characteristics & Constituent

Handling of Agarwood
Handling of Agarwood
Agarwood trees are delicate and should be appropriately administered. In the process of cultivation, other than careful supervisions, cultivators should have profound understanding of the genus of Agarwood. A holistic cultivation method and plan must be drafted, including weeding executional plan, loosening of soil, pruning, pest control, proper drainage and wind protection. All the above are the quintessential criteria for cultivation Agarwood. Its production is influenced by these uncompromising requirements, rendering Agarwood rare, precious, and valuable.
Inchiotation
Inchoation
The Aquilaria (Thymelaeaceae) is a well-known Agarwood-producing genus, where some species in the genus accumulate resins in parts of their trunks when mature. The resins then in turn form aromatic nodules, referred to as ‘Chenxiang’ (sinking incense) amongst the Mandarin-speaking.

The ancient Chinese referred to Agarwood as ‘ChenShuiXiang’ (sinking incense wood) in the earlier days, even likened to fairest beauty of Ancient China, Xishi, for she had captivated many including the Emperor with her favorite daily douche fragrance alike to that of Agarwood. Other parts of the world may provide each distinctive identity; in Malaysia, it is most commonly known as Agarwood or gaharu.
Soil & Climate
Soil & Climate
Agar plant prefers high humid, sub-tropical climate with rainfall between 1800-3500 mm per annum. It grows from sea level up to 500-m altitudes. It is a sun-loving plant and requires plenty of sunshine. It prefers well-drained deep sandy loam-to-loam rich in organic matter but can profitably be grown in marginal soils and also in shallow soils over rocky beds with cracks and crevices. It grows well in hill slopes and forest environment. The traditional agar growing areas exhibit the preference of acidic soil reaction. Mycorrhiza and other beneficial funguses, which seems to be responsible for oil formation in the Agar tree are soil borne; requires acidic soil for their propagation.

Agarwood Formation Process

The Path towards Agarwood Formation

01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
Formation-01
INFLORESCENCE OF AQUILARIA SPECIES
Aquilaria malaccensis produces seeds after 7–9 years while some other species produce seeds only once in their life cycle. The flowering and fruiting of Aquilaria species usually occur between May to August of the year.
Formation-02
RECALCITRANT SEEDS OF AQUILARIA SPECIES
Aquilaria fruit produces one to two seeds in a capsule, which are very sensitive to desiccation. These seeds have short viability period of 7-10 days.
Formation-03
GERMINATION OF AQUILARIA SEEDS
Seedlings of the species should first be germinated in sand beds, before being carefully transplanted to polythene bags, supported by bamboo poles and kept under temporary shade.
Formation-04
TRANSPLANTING AGARWOOD SAPLINGS
All agarwood seedlings that have grown for 6 months will be transplanted from the temporary shade area to the exclusive planting area of ​​agarwood trees; usually, the planting distance between agarwood trees is between 2 meters and 6 meters, and careful care is given.
Formation-05
NATURALLY OCCURRING AGARWOOD RESIN
By the third year of growth, agarwood saplings will gradually form resin between the phloem and parenchyma. Once a fungus invades the agarwood tree at this time, the tree body will respond accordingly and produce protective resin; and when the resin condensed in the tree body reaches the corresponding saturation, agarwood will be formed.
Formation-06
ARTIFICIAL INOCULATION MODEL
Agarwood resin formed by natural maturation may take a long time to complete, and the probability of containing agarwood resin among many mature agarwood trees is only 1%. Therefore, in order to induce and increase the speed of agarwood resin synthesis, agarwood growers have long used safe and effective artificial inoculation methods, such as wounding the agarwood tree or artificial fungal infection.
oil-green
AGARWOOD RELATED PRODUCTS
All mature agarwood has its own unique fragrance, which is also the most valuable value-added point of agarwood. Compared with other types of spices that are easy to be copied, agarwood will create its unique fragrance and related products due to the agarwood resin condensed in different environments, different types of fungi invaded, and different situations, which shows its human nature. A unique, unique scent.
Agarwood_Hero
HARVEST PERIOD OF AGARWOOD
When the agarwood tree is 5 to 10 years old, the agarwood tree is suitable for harvesting and manufacturing into various high-value related products.

Nature's Treasure

Benefits in Every Part of The Plant

Leaves

Agarwood leaves; rich in protein, vitamins and micronutrients, is an unconventional but safe nutritious food for consumption. Along with Chinese liquorice roots, Agarwood leaves can be produced into fragrance, Agarwood tea that aids in the detoxifying of human bodies and is free from caffeine.

PETALS

Aquilaria’s small, yellowish-green flowers are rare and beautiful, and its healing properties are long recognised since being documented in the classic Chinese compendium of herbal materia medica, Shennong Bencao Jing. Petals of Aquilaria flowers are used in making floral-infused tea, known to reduce cholesterol, blood sugar, and blood pressure. It can also be made into traditional Chinese medicine for various treatments, such as fractures, contusions and strains, or more commonly known as 'Tittar'.

Resin

Formed in the heartwood of Agarwood trees; resin is highly valued and blessed with prominent pricing globally. The essential raw material in the making of the fragrant OUD.

BARK

Treated Agarwood tree barks can be made into high quality paper.

FRUITS/SEED KERNELS

Aquilaria fruits contain high levels of oil, where 60% of its total composition is fatty acids, including stearic acid and ximenyic acid; with excellent insulating quality and shine. OUD or Agarwood essential oil can be extracted from ripened Aquilaria fruits, and is exquisitely priced due to its rarity.

BRANCHES

Agarwood branches can be dried, crushed, and combined with rose petals, for the making of quality incense used in religious offerings.

ROOTS

Agarwood roots can be dried, crushed, and combined with rose petals, for the making of quality incense used in religious offerings.

TRUNK

Agarwood trees are known as the ‘New Ivory’ due to its strength and toughness, allowing them to be pest-free and anti-corrosive. Agarwood trees trunks can be made into premium, durable furniture, beads, or carved into religious sculptures; premium products in international market with strong demands and prominent pricing.

The King of Agarwood

Qi Nam

Kinam is the most priced and prominent variety of Agarwood, opulent in glutinous resins and fragrance scent and possesses anesthetic, bitter, hot and mint taste; filled with gentle and dignified scent with a touch of bitterness. The fragrance is synonymous with an aristocrat in its elegance and gracefulness. It is also known and used in Traditional Chinese medicine as herbs; believing to have the properties in curing, treating cancer and other diseases. Kinam is found in Indochina, Thailand, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, especially in Vietnam. According to Kyozaburo Nakata of Baieido Co.,Ltd. the name Kinam originated from the local language of the Campus of South Vietnam; the early traders of Kyara. The name derives from the combination of the Sanskrit word for black “Kala” and the Chinese word for tree “Bak” Together they formed Kalambak and later the name was changed to Kinam.

Kinam is sold in Kilogram denomination. Genuine Kinam is rare and exorbitantly priced. Genuine Kinam is known to transacted for more than USD$20,000 per Kilogram.

People Republic of China is poised becoming global largest and fastest growing single market for Agarwood. Demand for Agarwood and Agarwood products have grown exponentially in China in recent years, and are believed to be in the range of billions of American dollars.

In China, it is believed to be more than 70 000 Agarwood trees in the Guangdong Province and approximately 60 000 trees in Hainan province, with smaller quantities in some other provinces. It is reported that a large number of Agarwood plantations have been established in the last decade. Agarwood plantations can alleviate pressure on wild populations and satisfy growing market demands, with encouraging efforts being channeled into developing technology in improving the sustainable use of Agarwood-producing trees.

In the present day, the ethereal fragrance of Agarwood trees is blossoming in the South China, albeit its growth rate trailing behind tropical countries due to its cooler climate and typhoon intrusion.

Agarwood is "Worth a King's Ransom"

Every component of the tree benefits humankind and have been treasured since time of antiquity.

Matters in the Mind

The fragrance of Agarwood has always avail humankind and has been eminently used in religious and spiritual practices; the fragrance is said to aid in one’s communion with the divine. Agarwood has been widely used for spiritual purposes since primordial times, in aiding one’s path towards enlightenment, clarity, grounding, transmutation of ignorance as well as in the form of incense as a form of offerings. Agarwood is an essential element in aromatherapy; the most potent in calming and cultivating a luxurious yet cozy and relax home setting for one’s mind and being.

Enriching Lives

Agarwood is not only central to religious and cultural offerings, it is also widely used for perfume, medicinal, and ornamental purposes.
en_USEnglish